BACK TO THE ROUBO BENCH

So okay!  I know!  I’ve been screwin’ around with this project for a year or more.  But I just got into other things….  You know how it is.   Right?  Well, anyway, I’m back at the Roubo bench project and it is the priority project of the season.  So, stick around, we’ll finish this darned thing together, so to speak.

So here’s what’s going on with the right end vise (really not a tail vise, now is it?).  Just about complete and being dry fit to to the to the top;

You can see the “sacrificial chop” squeezed between the front chop and the bench top.  It will be trimmed to height when everything is finally assembled.

The next step is to set up the tool tray.  This will require a “plough” that will accept the “floor” of the tool tray.  I could do this with a router.  But I’m still trying to loose that ten pounds that I put on during the holidays.  (I still don’t know how it happened.)  So, I gonna make this plough with a Stanley 45.  This is a plane that you can definitely develop a love/hate relationship with.

The one bit of advice that I can give you about using any plough (plow) plane is, to start “at the end”.  Work your way back from the terminus.  Trust me, it’s better that way.  Plough’s are remarkably rewarding in their simplicity and efficacy.  Just enjoy them and don’t worry about the time that it will take you to make that plough.  Remember, for hand woodworkers it’s about the process.  Right?  I mean, come on, it is all about the process, right?

I’ll explain that loose tenon hanging out of the end of the bench next time.  But for right now, let’s just let it be a mystery.

Explore posts in the same categories: Roubo workbench, workbenches and work-holding

Tags: , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

2 Comments on “BACK TO THE ROUBO BENCH”

  1. LARRY PORTER Says:

    go dennis go,i am hoping to live long enough to see this bench finished!!!!!!!!!!!! but alas, i of all people know how an old guy can get away from the main point. btw did i tell you about the hockey game i saw ? now where was i? oh nice talking to you! larry


  2. I just found your blog. I added it to the blog aggregator on my site at UnpluggedShop.com.

    When you make a new post, within about two hours, the headline will automatically appear on my site so woodworkers everywhere can click over to your site and read it.

    If you ever have any questions or concerns, please let me know.

    I usually try to get blogs that are at least 50% woodworking hand tools or of unique interest to hand tool users.

    A link to my homepage or blog is always appreciated, but not required.

    Thanks,
    Luke Townsley


Leave a Reply

