A little more fancy axe work

I thought that everyone might enjoy seeing Roald and his associates doing a little more axework.  Here’s a video of them beveling a beam:

It’s quick, leaves a great surface and can be done where there’s no electricity or gasoline.  Roald tells me that the axe he is using is a replica of a medieval Norwegian type made by a local smith.  They are working in a manner that allows them to duplicate the tool marks found in Scandinavian stave churches.  This finished section of the beam was oval and it was used in a reconstructed house in Stiklestad.

Just in case you might think that these guys are working in the shop all day long, watch how Roald drops a tree right where he wants it.  Watch the entire 4 minutes and pay close attention to his technique.

Roald has a number of other videos on YouTube that are well worth watching.  And, I’m going to encourage him to put more videos up of the work they’re doing at the University.

Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

2 Comments on “A little more fancy axe work”

  1. Matthew Says:

    Oh man I wish I’d bought that hewing axe I saw last week…

    • D.B. Laney Says:

      There are plenty more out there, Matt.  Believe me.  Once I started letting friends, relations and associates know that I wanted to do a little research, they started turning up out of nowhere.  (Now, I must admit, I have bought a few.)  I must say, that if planing is therapy, working with an axe is “treatment x 2”.  And it’s just another way to build your skills.  Be sure to follow Roald.  You’ll have to do some translating, etc.  But it’s well worth the effort.

      ________________________________


Leave a Reply

