Ya call that a workbench?

Wow, another big gap between posts.  But I’ve been busy.  Busy with official stuff and (I’ll admit it) busy with a few distractions.  The walnut slab bench is finished.  It’s over the top.  But it’s a heavy, working bench.  In the next few days, I’ll share some more detailed information about the bench and how building one like it can provide an opportunity to perfect both some very basic and some more advanced skills.  The lignum vitae vise handles aren’t just for show.  They add weight.  And, in this case, the heavier the better.

Note the admonition – In other words “Get busy and stop wasting time”

Explore posts in the same categories: workbenches and work-holding

Tags: ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

7 Comments on “Ya call that a workbench?”

  1. Ron Says:

    Wow that is one nice bench!

  2. Carroll Says:

    Beautiful, Dennis! Any idea as to how much it DOES weigh?

  3. John G Says:

    Holy smokes! That is the prettiest workbench I’ve ever seen.

  4. Dale Says:

    Nice bench Dennis. What height and length of the bench?

  5. Jim Crammond Says:

    Dennis,

    I enjoyed seeing you and Les at WIA a couple of weeks ago. I finally remembered to check out your blog and all I can say is WOW! The bench is beautiful, but so is the rest of your work that I saw as I read back through some of the blog entries.

    It is also nice to see a recommendation for a local sawyer. Let me know when you have some time for talking about Windsor chairs, I’m always interested in that.

    Jim


Leave a Reply

