Bannister back chair – Progress – When is it enough?

A question that craftsmen have asked themselves, for time eternal, is when have I done enough.   Obviously, when you’re working for a client the answer is, simple, when he or she is satisfied.  But when you’re doing something for yourself, not being driven by a profit motive, but guided by your passion for the craft, the question can be much more difficult to answer.  However, I concluded long ago that I will never reach perfection.  I try to hold myself to a fairly demanding standard.  But, I’m comfortable having that little talk with myself in which I say, “good enough.”  I’ve also learned another important lesson.  I simply mention to folks that everything looks better if you step back about ten feet.  I have no doubt that I’ll do a little more cleanup, but I’m calling the crest rail carving “good enough.”  I’ll be finishing the chair with five or six coats of “watery (1/2# cut)” shellac.  It will make the carving “pop”, really POP!

012

Right now, there’s nothing but a wash of turpentine on the carving, just to bring out the color.  It also makes those little areas that need touching up very apparent.  Umhhh…maybe I’m not quite done with it.

 

Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

Tags: , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

2 Comments on “Bannister back chair – Progress – When is it enough?”


  1. That is an impressive piece of carving and I thought your pineapple was something else too.

    • D.B. Laney Says:

      Thank you very much. While I’m not particularly adept at it, I do enjoy carving. However, the involuntary hand movement associated with advancing age make it increasingly challenging for me. But I’m still a kid, in my head. Much of the time the messages from my brain get distorted before they get delivered to my fingers.


Leave a Reply

