“It’s a gift to come down, where you ought to be

I think of all those times that I dreamed of traveling the world.  Oh!  To tour Europe to my heart’s content! How great to take a leisurely circumnavigation or travel all around North America.  So many places to see, great places, beautiful places!  Buy that lottery ticket!

Then, every once in a while one of those voices in my head (who, occasionally, has some very sage advice to offer) reminds me of something like the old Shaker Hymn “Simple Gifts”:

It’s a gift to be simple,                                                                                                                                                 It’s a gift to be free,                                                                                                                                                       It’s a gift to come down,                                                                                                                                                 where you ought to be

I look out from my front porch.

004-1

My head still works (mostly).  My hands still work (mostly).  Life ain’t so bad.

P.S.  Check out that old Chevy

 

 

Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

One Comment on ““It’s a gift to come down, where you ought to be”

  1. Matt McGrane Says:

    How a propos having that Chevy right behind the sign that says “Historic District”. Looks like a really nice scene from your porch.

    I can relate to that Shaker prayer. We take so much for granted. Marketing blitzes would have us believe that our lives are just terrible unless we’re traveling to Hawaii or if we don’t have the newest cell phone or if we don’t indulge in some nonsense. I like my life simple – and there’s nothing wrong with that.


Leave a Reply

