Queen Anne drop leaf – a gallery

For most of us, woodworking can be a pretty solitary business.  And, for the most part, that’s the way we like it.  But when I have the opportunity to spend time working alongside a couple of expert woodworkers I take it, gladly.

Several months ago, my friends Les and Scott, and I agreed that it would be interesting to meet once a week and work on a project together.  One of the problems working on your own all of the time is that you become terribly “hide bound” in your approach.  We decided we’d all benefit from sharing our methods with one another.  We settled on a project, a small drop leaf table with hinged apron supports.  We’re old(er) and slow(er) and once a week has stretched the project out.  But we’re making headway and we’re “in the white” at this point.  I thought it might be interesting to give a little documentation of our progress, so far.  All pictures, few words.

In way of a caveat, most of you know me as a dedicated hand tool woodworker.  Though I prefer to be unplugged in my own shop, I’m perfectly okay turning on the power when I have the chance to commiserate with guys like Les and Scott.  But visitors to my shop should not expect to see any increase in powered equipment there, actually, quite the contrary.

Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

Tags:

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

4 Comments on “Queen Anne drop leaf – a gallery”


  1. Lovely work. What a treat.
    Thanks.

  2. Craig Says:

    Very nice proportions, and those are some sweet gams on the little lady.

  3. John Rawlings Says:

    Very nice project. It’s good to get out of the house once in a while isn’t it?


Leave a Reply

