Unfinished projects – boon and bane

Walk into my shop (or almost anyone’s shop) and you’re going to see some projects that are unfinished.  Not just “waiting for paint”, I mean incomplete.  I used to think that was a bad thing, especially when customers called requesting status reports.  But now that I’m my own best customer, the pressure’s off.  I have the luxury of allowing myself to be diverted from time to time.  The biggest problem that this line- up of “works in progress” causes is the consumption of precious space.  That’s the bane part.

The boon is, I’ve always got something to do.  When I’m working on only one project I often find that I have an insufficient block of time to complete a particular task at hand.  So I tend to “doodle” in the notebook or stare at the computer instead of “making chips”.  With multiple projects waiting my attention, I can always find something to do even if I only have twenty or thirty minutes available.  And, without being “under the gun” of delivery dates, if I choose to explore a different technique or design, I have the freedom to do so.

So I’ve stopped beating myself up.  I never have been very concerned about keeping an immaculate shop.  (I hear my Grandfather saying, “cleanliness is next to Godliness, but a clean shop means you’re not making much money.”)  And now, I’m not very concerned about project completion.  I love the actual process of woodworking, much more than the product.  But, most of all, I love being retired.

 

Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

2 Comments on “Unfinished projects – boon and bane”

  1. joemcglynn Says:

    Pictures, darn it, I need pictures of your unfinished projects. Who knows? They might be projects I want to start on myself.

  2. Millers Pond Pottery pottery Says:

    Really!!????? You are retired??? Really?????


Leave a Reply

