I’m just so gosh darned busy!

Years ago a friend of mine told me that he never knew what “busy” was until he retired.  I thought he was nuts when he said that, a complete idiot.  But, it turns out, he was absolutely right.

I just realized that it’s nearly a month since I posted anything.  I was shocked.  Haven’t I done any woodworking for a month?  Well, of course I have.  But much of this summer has been spent with two little grandchildren and the occasional game of golf.  Sometimes, woodworking can and should take a backseat to other and more important things in your life.

But the tools haven’t rusted away.  In fact, they’ve been being put to good use in the construction of a rather large dining room table for my daughter and son-in-law.  It’s been slow going.  Some time ago I did a post about turning and carving the legs. But, I have to admit that it’s taken an unusually long time to get to this point.  But we’re making progress and I feel that I’m about to be “carried away” on a wave of productivity.

Here’s the “dry” fit up of the base:

072

Truth be told, I “borrowed” the details of the legs from Matthew Burak’s excellent site, www.tablelegs.com.  As this was for family, I turned and carved the legs myself.  If I were still working, I, very likely, would have bought the legs from Mr. Burak.  Extraordinary quality, fair prices, no headaches.  But, hey!  This is heirloom stuff, the kid’s legacy.  Who knows, in a few years, someone can put a vise on it or use it as a glue-up table.  I am nothing, if not realistic.

The toughest, single task on the base is the letting in of the center stretcher to the end stretchers.  I elected to use a simple bead detail, which requires the establishment of a secondary datum so the beads can be beveled.  This allows the detail line to be continuous from center to end stretchers.  When laying out these data, it’s a good idea to be in a state of complete sobriety, one little misstep…

067

068

070

These joints are just “dry fit”, so they’ll need a little more trimming, but, I believe you get the point.  Something as simple as a bead can be quite elegant, if done correctly.  The through tenons will be wedged and made flush.  Dismantling will require the use of a “Sawzall”, or some similar device.

Before anyone asks, I’m not quite sure about the style of the legs.  Regency, Georgian, Red Oak… it escapes me.  Perhaps my friend, Mr. Jack Plane could weigh in and give us a little direction here.  No one is more qualified than Jack.  And, I’d just like to take a moment to say that I’m “pleased as punch” that Jack is back.  And it sounds as if Jack is getting serious about putting a book together.  It should sell very, very well.  If you don’t know Jack, you should.  Visit him at www.pegsandtails.wordpress.com.

Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

Tags: ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

One Comment on “I’m just so gosh darned busy!”

  1. Jack Plane Says:

    A rather splendid looking table there!

    With the various classical elements, there are certainly nods at various periods, though I’d have to say the overall effect is reminiscent of the legs on some Regency library and writing tables.

    I much prefer Red Oak to White Oak and there’s enough of tannin in it if you want to create an old weathered (read: son-in-law/grandchild proof) finish.

    JP


Leave a Reply

