A Gallery of Iconic lathes of the Post-War Era, when cast iron was king

Consider this my Pinterest page.  I’m so old that when I have spare time I’m surfin’ the net for pictures of old machinery.  Lathes are a favorite, and I’m not afraid to say that I like ’em heavy and powered (every bit as much as the human powered variety).  These lathes are manifestations of the last throes of American and European manufacturing dominance.  Those were the days…

If I were conducting a contest for most seductive lathe, my vote would have to go to the Yates-American J170 (or the Brodhead version).  Let me know what you think.  There’s a lot of ’em out there, still giving good service every day.  And I’m sure there many remaining that could use a good home.

This gallery just begs the question; Why don’t we make ’em like this anymore?  I’m sure the answer would fill volumes.

Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

Tags:

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

One Comment on “A Gallery of Iconic lathes of the Post-War Era, when cast iron was king”

  1. bloksav Says:

    One thing that is really cool about cast iron lathes are the nice rounded edges and generally more “organic” looks. A welded plate construction seems a bit more squarish.
    Thanks for sharing the pictures.


Leave a Reply

