Back in from the cold

It’s a month since my last post.  I had to ask myself if this period was some sort of self imposed exile from the “blogosphere”, or if I was simply on a “blogation”.  My fellow blogger, Mr. Jack Plane, suggested that overly long periods away from the “ink slinging” was not a good thing.  So, I’m lacing up my boots and heading back to the shop.  But I’ve got to tell you that the invasion of the Polar Vortex has made the little workshop virtually unbearable.  Fifteen degrees below zero (f) temperatures and concrete floors do not make for a cozy environment.

073

In recent days the wood shop has been used as a venue for mechanic’s work.  My nearly twenty year old snow blower required immediate attention.  So, tool boxes that haven’t been opened in a very long time were dusted off and their contents put to good use.  Actually, it was refreshing to do a little engine work.  Though it was uncomfortable with my knees freezing to the floor (figuratively), it reminded me of rebuilding old motorcycles with my two sons some fifteen years past.

The last motorcycle I restored.  Regretted selling it the minute the new owner rode it away.  Someone found a this pic on the Internet.  Tried to buy it back but it was sold, then resold, etc.  It's probably buried in some scrap yard.  Gosh, I hope not, it was one of my favorites.

The last motorcycle I restored. Regretted selling it the minute the new owner rode it away. Someone found this pic on the Internet. Tried to buy it back but it was sold, then resold, etc. It’s probably buried in some scrap yard. Gosh, I hope not, it was one of my favorites.

So its time to kick the hibernating animals off of the wood rack and for me (the biggest hibernating animal) to get back to work.

Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

2 Comments on “Back in from the cold”

  1. Dustin Says:

    I have about 15 mins of bandsaw work and no bandsaw yet…. I would like to split some 5/4 Cedar boards in half to line a humidor. Is this something your or I could do?, I will bring monetary compensation. I would also love the opportunity to see your shop and how that walnut workbench commenced.
    Name is Dustin and # is 419-559-9512. You will likely recognize my face from Woodcraft.

    • D.B. Laney Says:

      Hi Dustin,

      How wide are the boards that you need to rip? I can only get 6″ under the guides on my old War Department Delta 14. But I’m sure there’s someone around who can help, if I can’t. As for the shop tour; I’m sure something can be arranged. But you’ll have to have a set of ski poles in order to keep your balance.

      Dennis

      ________________________________


Leave a Reply

