And I think to myself….

My little shop is cold in the winter and hot in the summer.  It’s crowded.  There’s barely enough room to assemble larger pieces.  But it is my refuge and sanctuary.  It is my “comfort zone”, where the “authentic me” is completely at ease.  I can spend hours with no radio, no computer, no TV, just the sound of the saws, chisels, rasps, shaves and planes.  Why would I ever venture out of “my space”?  After all, the world is full of idiocy.  Just look at the shenanigans of the current Mayor of Toronto.  It’s full of selfishness and hatred.  Just look at the behavior of our Congress and the world situation, at large.

But, as the poet, John Donne said, “No man is an island”.  So it is, that every once in a while, I must venture out.  And to my recurring surprise, I find that I needn’t travel very far to have my faith renewed and my interest in the greater community re-ignited.  It may be just an early evening stroll down the alley, behind the shop….

020

or sitting on the front porch for a while, looking across the river at the island bird sanctuary, where Heron and Eagles live in harmony with their environment.

Copy (1) of 001

And I think to myself…what a wonderful world.

Explore posts in the same categories: life in craft

2 Comments on “And I think to myself….”


  1. I too am amazed at how comfortable I am in my shop. It is definite a refuge of sorts. If only I had room for a lazyboy!

  2. Carroll Says:

    May peace and solace be yours whenever and where ever you need it!


Leave a Reply

