My window on the world

As a young man, I saw Southeast Asia.  As I got older I traveled to Europe, believing that trade and capital were the things that drove the Universe.  As an old man, I knew that I would, once again, visit Dublin, London, Paris and Rome.  But as each day goes by, I find that my happiness starts at my fingertips and works it’s way upward to my head.

At least once each day, I look across my bench, out the door to my world.  It may not be the Champs Elysee, but it’s not bad.  It’s where, I’m supposed to be.

033

 

To my mind, every woodworker (worth his salt), should know the words of the old Shaker hymn, “Simple Gifts”.  It is these gifts that we have been given stewardship of, that lead to the place in which we discover ourselves and our potential.  As someone said, “all the rest is dross”.

‘Tis the gift to be simple, ’tis the gift to be free
‘Tis the gift to come down where we ought to be,
And when we find ourselves in the place just right, 
  ‘Twill be in the valley of love and delight.

Explore posts in the same categories: life in craft

3 Comments on “My window on the world”

  1. angusbeaton@me.com Says:

    Mr Laney, Sir, bang on the nail with the simplicity concept – appreciation of one’s lot is a wonderful thing and the more simple that lot, the easier it is to sustain that feeling of contentment – look back to your post of 06 August on pole lathes – Same door…… !

    Your preparedness to share your accumulated wisdom on woodwork (and other matters – lessons taken at the school of life are oft’ the really valuable ones) is most generous and greatly appreciated by those eager to absorb and learn…… thank you

    Angus

  2. Carroll Says:

    “What thou lovest well remains,
    the rest is dross
    What thou lov’st well shall not be reft from thee
    What thou lov’st well is thy true heritage”
    ~ Ezra Pound, The Pisan Cantos

  3. waurigemma Says:

    Nicely put. I’ve begun to appreciate that sentiment over the last couple of years. Thanks for posting.
    USMC ’06 – ’10


Leave a Reply

