You’re never too old to learn a thing, or two

After a lifetime in architectural and case work, I thought I knew just about everything there was to know about working with wood.

Readers will recall that I started a little “stick windsor” chair several weeks ago, my first of that ilk.  I must say that I was very pleasantly surprised at how demanding the project was.  It necessitated thinking a little “out of the box” in terms of measuring from reference data, etc.  I believe this chair may be “V1”, with additional iterations coming in the future.  It is surprisingly comfortable, although this particular seat is fairly narrow.  I think that I’ll build future chairs with stretchers.  While it is correct for these chairs to be built with or without stretchers,  I think their use would add just a touch more stability (although this little baby is solid).  I don’t get excited that often, but I’m excited and I want to thank all of my chairmaker friends who’ve given me a renewed interest.

Copy (1) of 005

 

Explore posts in the same categories: Period furniture building

Tags: , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

7 Comments on “You’re never too old to learn a thing, or two”

  1. Deirdre Says:

    Dad! Super impressive! We will take 6 of them ❤❤❤❤❤!

  2. Jamie Bacon Says:

    Great looking chair. No steam bending necessary on this?

  3. Carroll Says:

    Awesome! What’s the finish?

    • D.B. Laney Says:

      Original Milk Paint – 1/2 Lexington Green, 1/2 Pitch Black Waterlox Medium Sheen – 3 coats Mylands Paste Wax

      ________________________________

  4. Jim Crammond Says:

    Dennis,

    The chair looks great. Be careful, chairmaking can be a steep slope. I appreciated your comment about thinking outside of the box, with all of the unique angles, you have to throw the squares away. Any more word on pine for seats?

    Jim Crammond

    • D.B. Laney Says:

      Thanks Jim. I believe the seat stock should be available at the end of the month. I’ll be in touch.


Leave a Reply

