Every bit as wet as the summer of ’68

This has been the wettest summer that I can remember in the Great Lakes, and this is my sixty-eighth.  The only wetter period that comes to mind, was the summer of 1968, and I spent that summer in Southeast Asia as a representative of my Uncle Sam.  For those of you who question wood’s ability to expand and contract due to changing moisture content, take a look at this;

014

 

This is the shelf under a bench that has been in my shop for nearly two years.  The material is air dried red elm.  It was loose fitted to begin with.  Imagine my surprise when I reached under the bench to grab a long plane!

011

Dispel you doubts.  Plan on the expansion (and contraction).  You’ll be glad you did.

Explore posts in the same categories: gateway skills, life in craft

Tags:

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

Leave a Reply

