Don’t overlook the small stuff!

My wife recently reminded me that at some point (in the not-too-distant future), we’re going to run out of room for more furniture. This started me thinking…. We could get rid of the “not so good” stuff…. We could give some of it away…. We could add on! Not going to happen. So I started looking at all the places that are unoccupied or “marginally” occupied. A light went off in my head. I realized that I forgotten about the everyday period pieces that are physically small but every bit as demanding on a “skills required” basis. Sometimes (maybe most of the time) less is more.

The first three books that I grabbed from the bookshelf provided answers that I had previously overlooked. (It’s hard to see the beauty and utility of something as simple as a candle box when the meglomanical side of your personality has you contemplating Cuban mahogany highboys with broken pediments, lattice-work friezes, a life-like bust of Athena surrounded by flaming lamps and secret compartments galore.)

Wallace Nutting’s Furniture Treasury, Macmillan Company, 1928; The Pennsylvania-German Decorated Chest, Monroe H. Fabian, Schiffer Publishing Ltd. 2004; and The Pine Furniture of Early New England, Russell Hawes Kettell, Dover Publications, 1956 are great volumes to start with, but there is a huge amount of information about Period accessories and treen, from many wonderful sources.

Here’s a brief sample of ways I might fill up my time and the little remaining space in the new year.

Explore posts in the same categories: Period furniture building

Tags: , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

Leave a Reply

