The Lowboy’s Progress

Wow, the Lowboy’s Progress!  That sounds like something that should have been written by an author with a name like Christopher Marlowe or some other very anglo, puritanical sounding kind of handle.  But this is just about a piece of furniture.

Over the years I’ve noticed that clients and spouses, alike, always seem to think that I should be able to produce things much more quickly than I do.  There are times that I begin to doubt myself and think that, perhaps, they’re right.  This phenomena takes hold at times like when I quoting a project.  Maybe I am too slow.  Maybe I’m just not organized enough.  Maybe I should be able to make this piece for the same price that it can be purchased from Ikea.  Then I come back to reality.  Very few spouses or clients know all the stuff that goes into making a piece of fine furniture.  Here’s an example;

This is just part of the supporting structure for the drawers in the lowboy.  It’s all mortised and tenoned together, then fit and re-fit.  It all takes time and it usually goes unnoticed.  In fact many times I forget about it.  Whoops, there goes the profit.

This is why it takes time.  But this is why traditionally built, fine furniture will last hundreds of years.

Explore posts in the same categories: Period furniture building

Tags: , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

One Comment on “The Lowboy’s Progress”

  1. Carroll Says:

    Speaking of time that you put into quality furniture like this piece, I noticed the time you posted this entry! Another thing that goes unnoticed is the creative, artistic ability of the creator of such pieces. Just like a fine oil painting, the artistry and craftsmanship of woodworkers is a talent that needs to be better recognized and valued!


Leave a Reply

