Cabriole table – one more little task before we start finishing

This particular style calls for the leg post to be flush with the apron (rails, si vous prefere).  Some folks like to glue them all together, then do the final adjustments.  But, I’m opting to clamp them up, trim down the posts, then glue this puppy together.  Also, I’ll be putting a teenie draw bore on the mortise and tenon joints.  Call me old fashioned.  But I’m a Jacobean kinda guy.  I’m used to strechers…

So here’s how the posts look.  They’re “proud” of the apron;

Starting with a rabbet block plane, I’ll reduce the elevation of the leg posts in relationship to the apron (a shoulder plane, a bench rabbet plane, or a rabbet scraper plane would work as well).

When I get close to a finished elevation, I’ll switch to a float.  I can “register” the float on the apron’s surface.

After a little judicious planing, “floating”, scraping and/or sanding, I’ve brought the post and the apron flush.

Again, here are some of the tools that we can use to accomplish this job:

From bottom to top are two “body floats” by Simonds, a planemaker’s float from Lie-Nielsen, a rabbet block plane from Lie-Nielsen, a 1/2″ shoulder plane from Lie-Nielsen and a Bahco cabinet scraper.

Okay, now we’ll start the finishing, in earnest (unless I forgot something else).

Explore posts in the same categories: Period furniture building

Tags: , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

Leave a Reply

